DPS Attorney in Tulsa | Tulsa DUI (918) 582-9529
Following arrest for a DUI in Tulsa, you have 15 days to appeal your DUI license suspension in Oklahoma. Our Tulsa DPS attorney can help you fight the automatic license suspension following a Tulsa DUI arrest. Challenging this Tulsa DPS suspension can allow you to still drive to work, the store, and other necessary locations. Our DPS attorney in Tulsa is an experienced Tulsa DUI attorney with over 15 years experience.
Under Oklahoma law, your Tulsa DUI arrest will automatically trigger a license suspension. Although you have 15 days to appeal your suspension, if you do nothing, your driving privileges will be officially revoked 30 days after your arrest. However, with our DUI attorney in Tulsa you can challenge your suspension and potentially avoid losing your license.
DPS Attorney in Tulsa | The DPS hearing statute reads as follows:
F. The hearing before the Commissioner of Public Safety or a designated hearing officer shall be conducted in the county of arrest or may be conducted by telephone conference call. The hearing may be recorded and its scope shall cover the issues of whether the officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person had been operating or was in actual physical control of a vehicle upon the public roads, highways, streets, turnpikes or other public place of this state while under the influence of alcohol, any other intoxicating substance, or the combined influence of alcohol and any other intoxicating substance as prohibited by law, and whether the person was placed under arrest.
1. If the revocation or denial is based upon a breath or blood test result and a sworn report from a law enforcement officer, the scope of the hearing shall also cover the issues as to whether:
a. if timely requested by the person, the person was not denied a breath or blood test,
b. the specimen was obtained from the person within two (2) hours of the arrest of the person,
c. the person, if under twenty-one (21) years of age, was advised that driving privileges would be revoked or denied if the test result reflected the presence of any measurable quantity of alcohol,
d. the person, if twenty-one (21) years of age or older, was advised that driving privileges would be revoked or denied if the test result reflected an alcohol concentration of eight-hundredths (0.08) or more, and
e. the test result in fact reflects the alcohol concentration.
2. If the revocation or denial is based upon the refusal of the person to submit to a breath or blood test, reflected in a sworn report by a law enforcement officer, the scope of the hearing shall also include whether:
a. the person refused to submit to the test or tests, and
b. the person was informed that driving privileges would be revoked or denied if the person refused to submit to the test or tests.
G. After the hearing, the Commissioner of Public Safety or a designated hearing officer shall order the revocation or denial either rescinded or sustained.
To speak with a Tulsa DUI attorney, contact our office online or by phone for a free consultation.